Lecture: Cemetery of Human Rights at Europe’s Borders

30 Nov

Together with Susanne Burckhardt and Abdulkader Birawi, the Refugee Law Clinic invites  to a special LECTURE: “CEMETERY OF HUMAN RIGHTS AT EUROPE’S BORDERS – EXPERIENCE REPORT FROM THE GREEK EGGIAN ISLAND OF SAMOS”

Europe closes its borders – but the reasons people leave their homes and flee remain. Despite the EU-Turkey deal, which came into effect in March 2016, people continue to arrive on the Greek islands via this escape route on a daily basis. The accommodation in the hot spots takes place under catastrophic conditions, medical care is in fact not guaranteed, legal advice and independent information on the asylum procedure are offered on Samos alone by a small volunteer project of the Refugee Law Clinic (RLC) Berlin in the smallest extent.

Abdul and Susanne were on Samos in October 2018, where they worked for the RLC as an translator and legal advisor. They would like to share their experiences with you and then invite you to use the space for questions and discussions.

When: Wednesday, the 5th of December, from 6pm
Where: FSU Jena, Seminarraum 308 (Carl-Zeiss-Straße 3)

Vortrag am 5.12.: Friedhof der Menschenrechte an Europas Grenzen

30 Nov

Die Refugee Law Clinic lädt gemeinsam mit Susanne Burckhardt und Abdulkader Birawi zum VORTRAG ein: „FRIEDHOF DER MENSCHENRECHTE AN EUROPAS GRENZEN – ERFAHRUNGSBERICHT VON DER GRIECHISCHEN ÄGÄISINSEL SAMOS“

Europa schließt seine Grenzen – die Gründe, aus denen Menschen ihre Heimat verlassen und fliehen, bleiben jedoch. Trotz des im März 2016 in Kraft getretenen EU-Türkei Deals, kommen weiterhin täglich Menschen über diese Fluchtroute auf den griechischen Inseln an. Die Unterbringung in den Hot Spots findet unter katastrophalen Bedingungen statt, ärztliche Versorgung ist faktisch nicht gewährleistet, Rechtsberatung sowie unabhängige Informationen zum Asylverfahren werden auf Samos allein durch ein kleines ehrenamtliches Projekt der Refugee Law Clinic (RLC) Berlin in kleinstem Umfang angeboten.

Abdul und Susanne waren im Oktober 2018 auf Samos und haben dort für die RLC als Dolmetscher und Rechtsberaterin gearbeitet. Gern möchten sie ihre Erfahrungen mit euch teilen und laden euch anschließend ein, den Raum für Fragen und Gespräche zu nutzen.

Wann: Mittwoch, den 05.12., ab 18 Uhr
Wo: FSU Jena, Seminarraum 308 (Carl-Zeiss-Straße 3)